RTÉ Announces Shortlist for Choice Music Prize Album of the Year

Fontaines D.C. (Photo: Ed Miles)

RTÉ Announces Shortlist for Choice Music Prize Album of the Year

Girl Band, Sorcha Richardson, Lankum, Maija Sofia, and Fontaines D.C. among nominees.

The shortlist has been announced for the RTÉ Choice Music Prize Album of the Year for 2019.

The ten albums nominated span the genres of indie, hip hop, electronic, rock and folk and include Lankum’s The Livelong Day, Grim Town by Derry artist SOAK, Galway songwriter Maija Sofia’s Bath Time and Kerry singer Junior Brother’s Pull The Right Rope. Also on the list are electronic artist Daithí’s recent release L.O.S.S, Mick Flannery’s self-titled record, Dogrel by Fontaines D.C., Girl Band’s The Talkies, Stride by hip hop artist Jafaris and Sorcha Richardson’s First Prize Bravery

The albums were nominated by a panel of twelve judges from the Irish music media. The awards ceremony, which takes place at Vicar Street on 5 March, will be broadcast live on RTÉ 2FM in a special four-hour extended programme from 7pm to 11pm, with a special highlights television programme on RTÉ 2 the following week. 

Previous winners of the award include Jason by O Emperor in 2018Precession by synth duo Ships in 2017 and, in 2016, Rusangano Family for Let the Dead Bury the Dead

Listen to a playlist of all the nominees below. For further information, visit www.choicemusicprize.ie.

RTÉ Choice Music Prize - Irish Album of The Year Shortlist
Daithí L.O.S.S. (Strange Brew)
Mick Flannery  Mick Flannery (Rosaleen Records)
Fontaines D.C.Dogrel (Partisan Records)
Girl Band The Talkies (Rough Trade Records)
Jafaris – Stride (DFL)
Junior Brother Pull The Right Rope (Strange Brew)
Lankum The Livelong Day (Rough Trade Records)
Soak Grim Town (Rough Trade Records)
Maija Sofia Bath Time (Trapped Animal Records)
Sorcha Richardson  First Prize Bravery (Faction Records)


Published on 8 January 2020

comments powered by Disqus