RTÉ Radio 1 Folk Award Winners Announced

Ye Vagabonds (Photo: Tony Kinlan)

RTÉ Radio 1 Folk Award Winners Announced

Ye Vagabonds, Lisa O’Neill, Saint Sister, Iarla Ó Lionáird and Zoë Conway among winners.

The winners of the 2019 RTÉ Radio 1 Folk Awards were announced last night at an event in Vicar Street. 

Ye Vagabonds won three awards overall, including Best Traditional Folk Track for ‘The Foggy Dew’, Best Folk Album for The Hare’s Lament and Best Folk Group. The award for Best Original Folk Track went to Lisa O’Neill for ‘Rock the Machine’. 

Saint Sister were awarded Best Emerging Folk Act and fiddle player Zoë Conway won Best Folk Instrumentalist. Best Folk Singer was awarded to Iarla Ó Lionáird. 

Folk singer and harper Moya Brennan was presented with the Lifetime Achievement award by President Michael D. Higgins and Peggy Seeger was also present to announce traditional singer Margaret Barry’s induction into the Hall of Fame. 

Listen back to the awards here. For the full list of winners and nominees, see below. Highlights of the RTÉ Radio 1 Folk Awards will be broadcast on RTÉ 1 this Saturday, 26 October, at 11.15pm. 

Best Traditional Folk Track
The Foggy Dew – Ye Vagabonds (winner)
Bacach Shíol Andaí – Ye Vagabonds
The Factory Girl – Lisa O’Neill
The Foggy Dew – Ye Vagabonds
The Hills of Granemore – Daoirí Farrell
Póirste Béil – Inni K

Best Original Folk Track
Rock the Machine – Lisa O’Neill (winner)
All Down the Day – Gerry O’Beirne
Áthas – The Gloaming
Blackbird – Lisa O’Neill
Down in the Glen – Karan Casey
The River Holds Its Breath – Colm Mac Con Iomaire

Best Emerging Folk Act
Saint Sister (winner)
Anna Mieke
Junior Brother

Best Folk Instrumentalist
Zoë Conway (winner)
Caoimhin Ó Raghallaigh
Colm Mac Con Iomaire
Cormac Begley
Martin Hayes

Best Folk Singer
Iarla Ó Lionáird (winner)
Daoiri Farrell
Lisa O’Neill
Radie Peat
Ríoghnach Connolly

Best Folk Album
The Hare’s Lament – Ye Vagabonds (winner)
A Lifetime of Happiness – Daoirí Farrell
Heard a Long Gone Song – Lisa O’Neill
The River Holds its Breath – Colm Mac Con Iomaire
Pull the Right Rope – Junior Brother
The Gloaming 3 – The Gloaming

Best Folk Group
Ye Vagabonds (winner)
Saint Sister
The Gloaming 


Published on 25 October 2019

comments powered by Disqus