Release of Somnus by Neil O'Connor

Neil O'Connor

Release of Somnus by Neil O'Connor

The composer and electronica artist is releasing a new work for string quartet and electronics for free download.

Irish composer and electronic musician Neil O’Connor has released Somnus, a new work for string quartet and electronics. Neil is currently based in New York, and his work as a composer and under his electronica moniker Somadrone is strongly influenced by his work as a filmmaker and visual artist.

Somnus reflects the meditative feeling of the moments between sleep and wake, and marks a departure in the composer’s mixed-media work through its use of standard notation and through being closer to the minimalism of his work as Somadrone. The work is available as a free download from his Bandcamp page.

Published on 5 August 2012

comments powered by Disqus

To receive our latest articles, news, reviews and jobs, subscribe to our newsletters

Add your concert to our listings here.

For information on advertising with the Journal of Music visit this link