Huddersfield Festival Announces 2012 Composer in Residence

Huddersfield Festival Announces 2012 Composer in Residence

Maja S.K. Ratkje will be Composer in Residence at this year's Huddersfield Contemporary Music Festival.

Maja S.K. Ratkje

The Huddersfield Contemporary Music Festival (HCMF) has announced Norwegian composer Maja S.K. Ratkje as its Composer in Residence for its 2012 edition, which will take place in November of this year.

Ratkje is a versatile composer and musician who performs as a vocalist and improviser, and composes for electronics, opera and music for film and dance. She was the first recipient of the Arne Nordheim Prize in 2001 and was selected for UNESCO’s International Rostrum of Composers. Ratkje’s music has been performed by Klangforum Wein and Crash Ensemble, amongst many others.

Ratkje follows such composers as Jonathan Harvey and Rebecca Saunders in the role of Composer in Residence at HCMF. Ratkje will be present throughout the festival to oversee performances of her existing music, in addition to the premieres of newly commissioned work.

Ratkje’s music can be heard at her SoundCloud page, here.

Maja S.K. Ratkje will tour the UK with Ikue Mori from 28 to 31 March. Details here.

Published on 19 March 2012

Stephen Graham is a lecturer in music at Goldsmiths, University of London. He blogs at

Sign up for our daily or weekly newsletter to receive our latest news, UK newsreviews, articles, jobs and events.

To add a listing see here. For advertising visit this link.

comments powered by Disqus