KRONOS: Five Decades

KRONOS: Five Decades

Sunday, 12 May 2024, 7.30pm

The National Concert Hall has announced a performance by the Kronos Quartet, scheduled for Sunday, 12 May 2024, at 7:30 pm. This concert is part of the quartet's 50th-anniversary celebratory tour, titled 'KRONOS: Five Decades', and is part of the 'Perspectives Series'.

Kronos Quartet consists of David Harrington, John Sherba, Hank Dutt, and Paul Wiancko. Throughout their 50-year career, they have reimagined the traditional concept of the string quartet. Their performance at the National Concert Hall will showcase pieces from their extensive repertoire, including Steve Reich’s Triple Quartet, along with works by Sigur Ros, Laurie Anderson, Sun Ra, Terry Riley, and Jlin.

Over the years, the Kronos Quartet have commissioned works from a range of globally recognised composers, including John Cage, Morton Feldman, and Philip Glass. The 'Five Decades' tour will introduce commissions from composers such as Osvaldo Golijov, Michael Gordon, Henryk Górecki, Sofia Gubaidulina, Jlin, Astor Piazzolla, Tanya Tagaq, and Wu Man.

Tickets, priced at €35, €40, €45, will go on sale at 10 am on Wednesday, 5 July. Friends of NCH and groups of 10 or more can avail themselves of a 10% discount. Tickets can be purchased via the NCH Box Office at 01 4170000 or online at

WebsiteAdd a Listing

Published by Journal of Music on 3 July 2023

comments powered by Disqus

Please note that some listings are added by third parties. The Journal of Music does not take responsibility for the content or accuracy of listings published by third parties on this site. The Journal of Music reserves the right to edit or delete listings. Click here to add a listing, login or register.