Kirkos – For Private Use @ New Music Dublin 2021

Kirkos – For Private Use @ New Music Dublin 2021

Sunday, 25 April 2021, 11.00am

An experimental anthology to help you hear, see and taste your environment in new ways, and redefine what you mean by the word performance.

Date: Sunday 25th April
Time: 11am

We miss performing: the intimacy of warm bodies soaking up the same vibrations, breathing the same dust and smelling the same sweat; the journeys to a concert - all different, but all loaded with the same expectation and excitement; The total focus of being in a darkened room - nearly alone - with the performers. 
We can’t be in the same room together, but we can find other ways to share a listening context and a special experience; and we can privilege the private act of performing a piece only for yourself. This set of pieces is partly devised by Kirkos, partly composed by a set of wonderful artists commissioned to make micro-pieces by Kirkos and New Music Dublin. It also includes a few existing works that paved the way for our ideas.
For us, reframing “performance” as something you can do on your own and just for your own benefit seems a radical change of perspective: 
you don’t need to be a professional to be a performer;
if you’re a performer, you don’t need an audience to perform.

Kirkos: Hannah Miller, Jane Hackett, Robert Coleman, Sebastian Adams, Tom Roseingrave and Yseult Cooper Stockdale

New commissions are from: Eimear Walshe, Elis Czerniak, John Godfrey, Judith Ring, Rachel Ní Chuinn, Robbie Blake and Susan Geaney.

comments powered by Disqus

To receive our latest articles, news, reviews and jobs, subscribe to our newsletters

Add your concert to our listings here.

For information on advertising with the Journal of Music visit this link


Please note that some listings are added by third parties. The Journal of Music does not take responsibility for the content or accuracy of listings published by third parties on this site. The Journal of Music reserves the right to edit or delete listings. Click here to add a listing, login or register.