RTÉ Radio 1 Folk Awards

RTÉ Radio 1 Folk Awards

Thursday, 24 October 2019, 7.00pm

Described as one of “the best nights of music of the year” in 2018, the second ever RTÉ Radio 1 Folk Awards will make its return to Dublin’s Vicar St this October 24th, celebrating Irish folk musicians and their significant contribution to Irish culture. The awards will be presented by RTÉ Radio 1’s John Creedon and Ruth Smith.

Last year was an eclectic mix of folk music from around the country, and this year promises to be the same. Folk fans can expect to see folk royalty in attendance on the night along with the all important emerging artists. Speaking at last year’s Folk Awards, Christy Moore said ‘Standing here tonight, music is truly alive and well in this country’.

Among those in the line- up this year are Dervish, Martin Hayes, Karan Casey, Lisa O’Neill, Ye Vagabonds, A Lazarous Soul, Caoimhin O’Raghallaigh and a few surprises. Also joining us is English folk legend Ralph McTell who will perform on the night. The shortlisted artists will all be announced on September 19th.

Speaking of the line up, Ann Marie Power, Head of Arts and Culture at RTÉ said, “Last year was an amazing night with stellar performances, a real celebration of Ireland’s vibrant folk music scene. This year people can expect another exceptional evening that reflects the talent and artistry that is so rich in our country today. And we’re adding something new - this year, not only can you here the entire evening of performance live from RTÉ Radio 1 - we’ll also have a highlights show of the Folk Awards going out a few days later on RTÉ One TV.”



Toner Quinn 1

Why I gave the above rating: 

The RTÉ Radio 1 Folk Awards are a great way of hearing a wide range of artists in one night. Full line-up included harpers Fiona Gryson, Maeve McKenna and Síofra Ní Dhubhghaill, Christy Moore and Declan Sinnot, Karan Casey, Dervish, A Lazarus Soul, Ulaid, Niamh Parsons, Angelina Carberry, Lisa O’Neill and Christopher Capewell, Caoimhín Ó Raghallaigh, Ralph McTell, Ye Vagabonds, Niamh Farrell and Seamie O’Dowd, Martin Hayes, Cormac Begley and Moya Brennan. Delighted to see Peggy Seeger there too, announcing the Hall of Fame award for Margaret Barry. It’s an important night for folk and traditional music, more a celebration than a competition.

Here’s the full list of winners: https://journalofmusic.com/news/rte-radio-1-folk-award-winners-announced.

Listen back here: https://www.rte.ie/culture/2019/1023/1085206-rte-radio-1-folk-awards-listen-to-them-live/

Oct 28, 2019

Be Part of the Future of the Journal of Music

Sign up for our newsletters to receive our latest news, UK newsreviews, articles, jobs and events.

To add a concert listing see here. For advertising visit this link.


Please note that some listings are added by third parties. The Journal of Music does not take responsibility for the content or accuracy of listings published by third parties on this site. The Journal of Music reserves the right to edit or delete listings. Click here to add a listing, login or register.