New Releases (21 September)

John Francis Flynn (Photo: Steve Gullick).

New Releases (21 September)

The Journal of Music's regular round-up of recent albums and singles compiled by Shannon McNamee, including Mick Flannery, Crash Ensemble, Elaine Malone, John Francis Flynn, TRÚ, Sorcha Richardson, The Mary Wallopers, Danny Carroll and more.

Singer John Francis Flynn has released a new single ‘Mole in the Ground’ and announced that his second album Look Over The Wall, See The Sky will be released on 10 November via River Lea Recordings. This album is Flynn’s second with the label – an imprint of Rough Trade that has also released recordings by Ye Vagabonds, Lankum and Lisa O’Neill. New single ‘Mole in the Ground’ is released with a music video directed by Peadar Ó Goill.

Mick Flannery’s eighth studio album Goodtime Charlie was released this month (15 September) on Oh Boy Records, the label founded by American country-folk singer John Prine in 1981. The album, which is the Nashville label’s first release by an international artist, comprises fourteen tracks – including the previously released ‘Goodtime Charlie’, ‘Morning Rain’ and ‘Young’. It also features guest vocalists Tianna Esperanza, Valerie June and Anaïs Mitchell. Flannery is currently touring the new album, visiting the US, Canada, Ireland and Europe between now and the end of the year.

Crash Works I is a new record by Crash Ensemble, produced in partnership with New Music Dublin. The album is a live recording of a concert at the festival in April of this year that featured newly commissioned works by composers Amy Rooney, Anselm McDonnell, Laura Hyland, Yue Song and Úna Monaghan. The new works are the result of a development programme by the ensemble and festival that supported the composers in the writing of the pieces over a two-year period.

Cork musician Elaine Malone has released her debut album Pyrrhic on Dundalk indie label Pizza Pizza Records. The album, which follows singles ‘Moontread’ and ‘Eat Out of Your Hand’, is a blend of sounds and genres, touching on grunge, shoegaze and psychedelic dream pop. Featuring collaborators Sam Clague (guitar, percussion), James Christie (drums, guitar) and Ruairí Dale (bass, guitar), the album was recorded in Cork in December 2021 by Cathal MacGabhann (The Altered Hours).

Also recently released is Eternity Near, the new album from folk trio TRÚ; Róisín Murphy’s sixth solo album Hit Parade; The Primrose Lass by Clare fiddle player Sorcha Costello; Galway singer-songwriter Ultan Conlon’s fifth album The Starlight Ballroom; folk trio GreenBirdFlying’s debut self-titled album; composer Rachel Ní Chuinn’s Maximum Poetry; and songwriter and multi-instrumentalist Tom Portman’s Daughter of the Willow Tree, released on OOB Records.

Indie singer-songwriter Sorcha Richardson has shared her new single ‘Map of Manhattan’ ahead of her North American tour this autumn; CMAT released a new single ‘Stay for Something’ ahead of the release of her second album, Crazymad, for Me, out on 13 October; dream-pop trio A Lilac Decline have released ‘Twilight Wing’ on Galway indie label Rusted Rail; and Dundalk folk band The Mary Wallopers have shared ‘The Blarney Stone’ ahead of the release of their second album Irish Rock n Roll, out on 13 October.

Other releases include singer-songwriter Rachael Lavelle’s new single ‘Big Dreams’ (released ahead of her debut album of the same title on 10 November); fiddle player and singer Róisín Ward Morrow has shared a new recording of traditional song ‘The Rose of Ardee’; pianist and singer Patrick O’Laoghaire, performing as I Have a Tribe, has shared new single ‘Sunshine’; singer-songwriter Niamh Bury has released ‘Who am I to Tell Him?’; and guitarist and singer Danny Carroll has shared new track ‘Cheesemonger’, produced by Chris W. Ryan.

Indie band The Burma have released ‘The Holiday’, singer-songwriter Megan Nic Ruairí has shared new track ‘The Woods’, electro-pop artist Eddie Brewer has released single ‘Alone in the City’ and indie-pop band Still Blue have shared a new video for their single ‘Lace’.

Finally, Kneecap have announced that they have signed to London label Heavenly Recordings (which includes Saint Etienne, Confidence Man and Fionn Regan among their artists), along with the news that the Belfast Irish-language rap group’s debut album will be released in 2024. 

Listen to a playlist of all recent releases below. To submit your release, email newreleases [at]

Subscribe to our newsletter here.

Published on 20 September 2023

Shannon McNamee is Assistant Editor of the Journal of Music.

comments powered by Disqus