ConTempo Countywide

ConTempo Countywide

Sunday, 2 April 2023, 3.30pm

As part of Galway Music Residency's ConTempo Countywide series, join ConTempo Quartet and Aisteoirí an Spidéil for an afternoon of music and poetry in the beautiful Réalt na Mara church in Na Forbacha (Furbo), Cois Fharraige.

This evocative Easter performance includes music by Joseph Haydn and poetry by Mark Strand. Music and poetry are interwoven in an hour-long meditation on "The Seven Last Words of Christ". This very special performance includes a newly-translated Irish version of Mark Strand’s poetry by John Caulfield.

Contempo Quartet is the resident ensemble of Galway Music Residency and was RTE’s Resident Quartet from 2014 until 2019. Praised as a “fabulous foursome” (Irish Independent) and noted for performances which are “exceptional” (The Strad) and “full of imaginative daring” (The Irish Times), ConTempo Quartet has forged a unique place in Irish musical life.

Galway Music Residency is proudly supported by University of Galway, the Arts Council, Galway County Council, and Galway City Council.

WebsiteAdd a Listing

Added by Galway Music Residency on 22 March 2023

comments powered by Disqus

Please note that some listings are added by third parties. The Journal of Music does not take responsibility for the content or accuracy of listings published by third parties on this site. The Journal of Music reserves the right to edit or delete listings. Click here to add a listing, login or register.