Shortlist Announced for Seán Ó Riada Gold Medal Competition

Winners of last year’s competition Fionnuala Donlon (left) and Colm Broderick (right) with Peadar Ó Riada.

Shortlist Announced for Seán Ó Riada Gold Medal Competition

Final to take place on Friday 11 March in Cork.

Fifteen musicians have been shortlisted for this year’s Seán Ó Riada Gold Medal competition, which takes place on Friday 11 March in Cork. The winner will receive the Seán Ó Riada Gold Medal and €2,500.   

The competition was founded by Peadar Ó Riada and focuses on a different instrument each year. This year’s competition is for metal reed instruments including box, melodeon, mouth organ and concertina, and will be presented by Ó Riada at the Rochestown Park Hotel in Cork. The event is now in its twelfth year and was won last year by harper Fionnuala Donlon and uilleann piper Colm Broderick from Carlow. 

The full list of finalists is as follows:

Aaron Glancy, Geevagh, Co. Sligo
Amhlaoibh Ó Síocháin, Ó Beoláin, Fermoy, Co. Cork 
Antóin Ó Cathail, Ballycotton, Co. Cork 
Aoife Murphy, Listowel, Co. Kerry 
Clíona Halley, Castlemartyr, Co. Cork 
Colm de Brun, Cree, Co. Clare 
Damien O’Reilly, Corofin, Co. Clare
Éimhear Flannery, Rockchapel, Co. Cork 
Joseph Mannion, Colligan, Co. Waterford
Maura O’Connor, Abbeyfeale, Co. Limerick 
Ruby Falvey, Ballylongford, Co. Kerry
Ryan Sheridan, Ballintogher, Co. Sligo
Sárán Ó Maolagáin, Dundalk, Co. Louth
William Holmes, Rathcabbin, Co. Tipperary  

The winner will be selected by the judging panel of Mary MacNamara, Noel Hill and Charlie Harris. 

The event will be broadcast live on RTÉ Raidió na Gaeltachta on Friday 11 March from 7pm, and also on the Raidió na Gaeltachta Facebook page

For more, visit:

Published on 8 March 2022

comments powered by Disqus