Music Writer Mentoring Schemes

In March 2017, The Journal of Music launched two new Music Writer Mentoring Schemes, in County Clare and Galway City, supported by Clare County Council Arts Office, Galway City Arts Office and the Arts Council/An Chomhairle Ealaíon. This was followed by the launch of a Mentoring Scheme for Northern Ireland in January 2018, supported by the Arts Council of Northern Ireland.

The schemes, over the course of several months, support emerging writers to develop their skills in writing about music, leading to publication in The Journal of Music.

The aim of the initiative is to develop new voices in writing about music and increase JM’s coverage in these areas.

To date, fifteen reviews have been published, covering everything from Overhead, the Albatross and Lankum to the RTÉ Concert Orchestra and Loah.

The Galway City writers are Dylan Murphy, Shannon McNamee, Vincent Hughes, Julie Seagrave and Jake Morgan. Read full biographies of the writers here. Their articles are available at the links below.

Galway City Music Writer Mentoring Scheme
Dylan Murphy – Galway Only Knows: Brian Wilson
Vincent Hughes – Outbursts and Lulls: Overhead, the Albatross / Moments of Striking Optimism: Wild Alee by Talos
Jake Morgan – Two Americas United: RTÉ Concert Orchestra
Shannon McNamee – Lankum’s New Fire / An Otherworldly Destination: Judith Ring
Julie Seagrave – Straight to this Heart: Loah / Hear the Water: Naomi Berrill

From left to right: Toner Quinn (Editor), Jake Morgan, Vincent Hughes, Shannon McNamee, Julie Seagrave, Anna Murray (Asst. Editor) and Dylan Murphy.

The Clare writers are Ruth Smith, Ian Bascombe, Deirdre Clare and Alan Reid. Read full biographies of the writers hereTheir articles can be read at the links below.

County Clare Music Writer Mentoring Scheme
Deirdre Clare – The Song Harvest: Paul Brady / Room for Everyone: Martin Hayes Quartet
Ian Bascombe – Riches of Clare: Sheila Garry, Elaine Hogan, Conor McCarthy and James Duddy / Under an Irish Sky: Floriane Blancke
Ruth Smith – Day of All Days in Doolin: Lisa Hannigan / Layers of Knowledge: An Tara
Alan Reid – Triple Tradition at the Fleadh Cheoil: The Boruma Trio / From the North Country: Florence Fahy

From left to right: Ian Bascombe, Ruth Smith, Anna Murray (Asst. Editor), Toner Quinn (Editor), Alan Reid, Deirdre Clare, Siobhán Mulcahy (Clare County Council Arts Officer)

The Northern Ireland writers are Stevie Lennox, Laura Sheary, Marc Gregg and Aine Cronin-McCartney. Read full biographies of the writers here


From left to right: Ciaran Scullion (Head of Music, Arts Council of Northern Ireland), Stevie Lennox, Aine Cronin-McCartney, Marc Gregg, Laura Sheary and Toner Quinn (Editor, The Journal of Music).

For further details on the background to the schemes, please visit